Letter from the Chair

Heather Folker

Colorado and Denver Bar Associations

As you may have heard, Leanna Dickstein made the decision to resign as Communications Section chair due to funding issues at The State Bar of California. This was not an easy decision for her to make as I know how much she cherished time spent working for the section and being a part of this wonderful group. Hopefully you all can bear with me for a term and a half!

Below is a list of your current section leadership:

  • Heather Folker, Chair, Colorado Bar Association
  • Tim Eigo, Treasurer, State Bar of Arizona
  • Dominick Alcid, Secretary, The District of Columbia Bar
  • Russell Rawlings, Immediate Past Chair, North Carolina Bar Association

Council members:

  • Danielle Boveland, Louisiana State Bar Association
  • Lowell Brown, State Bar of Texas
  • Sarah Coole, State Bar of Georgia
  • Sayre Happich Ribera, Bar Association of San Francisco
  • Karen Korr, San Diego County Bar Association
  • Carissa Long, Indiana State Bar Association
  • Patrick Tandy, Maryland State Bar Association


  • Jenna Grubb, Board Liaison, Toledo Bar Association
  • Rebecca Green-Jablonsky, Staff Liaison, ABA Division for Bar Services


  • Anne Charles Award – Dan Wise, New Hampshire State Bar
  • E.A. “Wally” Ricther Award – Sharon Nolan, Chicago Bar Association
  • Luminary Awards – Tracey DeMarea, Johnson County Bar Association
  • Nominating – Russell Rawlings, North Carolina Bar Association
  • Scholarship – Francine Andia Walker, Florida Bar
  • Workshop Chair – Alexa Giacomini, Illinois State Bar Association

    --Workshop Program Chairs – Farrah Fite, Missouri Bar, and Sharon Nolan, Chicago Bar
    -- Sponsor Chairs – Paula Portner, New Jersey State Bar, and Derrick Stanley, State Bar of     Georgia

Special thank you to Russell Rawlings who has agreed to stay on an extra year as Immediate Past Chair and Chair of the Nominating Committee.

Thank you also goes to Patrick Tandy from the Maryland State Bar who has stepped up to fill the vacant seat on our council. I have asked Patrick to introduce himself, so please read below and take the opportunity to get to know him better.

I have spent the last five of my 16 years with the Maryland State Bar Association (MSBA) as MSBA Director of Communications. In this capacity I oversee the production and distribution of MSBA mainstay publications such as the Maryland Bar Journal; the monthly newspaper, the Bar Bulletin; MSBA’s weekly enewsletter, the MSBA Insider; and the Association’s annual directory, the Maryland Lawyers’ Manual, as well as media relations and MSBA’s presence on several social media platforms.

Outside the bar world, since 2000, I have edited and published the long-running, critically acclaimed Smile, Hon, You’re in Baltimore! series under my own imprint, Eight-Stone Press. Utne Reader twice included Smile, Hon amongst the finalists for its annual independent press awards. This fall, I launched a brand-new zine called Fire Pit, featuring colloquial storytelling from across the country and around the world.

Please be on the lookout for a survey to hit your inbox sometime in January, in which we are going to be looking at who our section is comprised of. After we analyze these results we may propose a name change for the section and workshop that is more inclusive of our membership. The survey will also seek information on how to optimize our enewsletter, and potential changes in the structure of our annual workshop. A bit of a catch-all but we’ll try to keep it brief.

The executive council of the Communications Section will meet during NABE Midyear on January 31, at which time we hope to begin preliminary discussions about the 2018 Communications Section Workshop. We welcome brief location proposals prior to the meeting. The conference is typically end of September, or early to mid-October. If you are interested but want more information please reach out to me.

Mark your calendars for NABEComm 2017, Oct. 3–6, Saint Louis! 

Interested in getting more involved? Email me. I love delegating!

I truly look forward to serving as your chair for the next 18 months. Please reach out to me at any time if you have any questions, concerns or ideas.

Happy new year to you and yours.


Heather Folker

Chair, NABE Communications Section Chair