Leadership & Policies

The SDCBA’s Board of Directors is the Association’s governing body, and is responsible for guiding the organization, within the parameters set forth by the SDCBA’s Bylaws and the policies set forth by the SDCBA Policy Manual, and within the provisions of the California Corporations Code and other relevant provisions of the law of the state of California.

2018 Board of Directors

The San Diego County Bar Association is governed by an 18 member Board of Directors. Directors are elected at large by the membership, one director is elected from East County, one from South Bay and one from North County. Director elections are held in November of each year. In addition, the chair of the Forum for Emerging Lawyers serves as a representative to the Board. The Bar's president is elected by the board from the second and third year directors in November. The board meets on the second Tuesday of each month at the Bar Center at 401. For a list of all of the SDCBA's past presidents, click here.
  • President
    Kristin E. Rizzo
    Rizzo Law, PC
    185 W. F St., Ste. 430
    San Diego, CA 92101-6091
    (619) 333-0949 rizzo@rizzofirm.com
  • President-Elect
    Lilys D. McCoy
    Thomas Jefferson School of Law
    1155 Island Ave.
    San Diego, CA 92101-7230
    (619) 961-4353
    Fax: (619) 961-1353
    lilysmccoy@icloud.com
  • Immediate Past President
    Loren G. Freestone
    Higgs Fletcher & Mack LLP
    401 W. A St., Ste. 2600
    San Diego, CA 92101-7913
    (619) 236-1551
    Fax: (619) 696-1410 lfreestone@higgslaw.com
  • Vice-President
    Stephanie H. Chow
    Office of the Attorney General
    110 W. A St., Ste. 1100
    San Diego, CA 92101-3702
    (619) 645-2077
    Fax: (619) 645-2012
    stephanie.chow@doj.ca.gov
  • Vice-President
    Srinivas Hanumadass
    Casey Gerry Schenk
    Francavilla Blatt & Penfield, LLP
    110 Laurel St.
    San Diego, CA 92101-1419
    (619) 238-1811
    Fax: (619) 544-9232
    Vas@cglaw.com
  • Vice-President
    Jan K. Maiden
    Law Office of Jan Maiden
    858 3rd Ave., Ste. 140
    Chula Vista, CA 91911-1305
    (619) 253-7867
    Fax: (619) 216-6954
    jkmaiden@yahoo.com
  • Vice-President
    Anna M. Romanskaya
    Stark & D'Ambrosio, LLP
    501 W. Broadway, Ste. 960
    San Diego, CA 92101-8594
    (619) 338-9500
    Fax: 619.338.9595
    aromanskaya@starkllp.com
  • Vice-President
    Johanna S. Schiavoni
    Law Office of
    Johanna S. Schiavoni
    3170 Fourth Ave., Suite 250
    San Diego, CA 92103
    (619) 269-4046
     johanna@schiavoni-law.com
  • Secretary
    Frank J. Barone
    Office of the Public Defender
    5530 Overland Ave., Ste. 110 San Diego, CA 92123-1261
    (858) 974-5803
    Fax: (858) 974-5858
    frank.barone@sdcounty.ca.gov
  • Treasurer
    Christopher M. Lawson
    District Attorney's Office
    330 W. Broadway
    San Diego, CA 92101-3825
    (619) 531-1192
    christopher.lawson@sdcda.org
  • Director
    Judy S. Bae
    Miller, Monson, Peshel, Polacek & Hoshaw
    501 W Broadway, Ste. 700
    San Diego, CA 92101-3563
    619.239.7777
    judybae@mmpph.com
  • Director
    David A. Fox
    Fox Law APC
    225 W Plaza St., Ste. 102
    Solana Beach, CA 92075-1164
    858.256.7616
    dave@foxlawapc.com
  • Director
    Renée N. Galente
    Galente Law, APC
    110 W. C St., Ste. 712
    San Diego, CA 92101-3906
    (760) 224-5226
    Fax: (800) 851-3256
    renee@galentelaw.com
  • Director
    Patricia P. Hollenbeck
    Duane Morris LLP
    750 B St., Ste. 2900
    San Diego, CA 92101-8127
    (619) 744-2250
    Fax: (619) 744-2201
    phollenbeck@duanemorris.com
  • Director
    Garrison Klueck
    Law & Mediation Firm of Klueck & Hoppes, APC
    7777 Alvarado Rd., Ste. 413
    La Mesa, CA 91942-8248
    (619) 448-6500
    Fax: (619) 589-5448
    garrison@familylawsandiego.com
  • Director
    Linh Yen Lam
    District Attorney's Office
    330 W Broadway
    San Diego, CA 92101-3825
    619.531.4294
    linh.sdcba@gmail.com
  • Director
    David M. Majchrzak
    Klinedinst PC
    501 W Broadway, Ste. 600
    San Diego, CA 92101-3584
    619.239.8131
    dmajchrzak@klinedinstlaw.com
  • Director
    Teodora D. Purcell
    Tafapolsky Smith Mehlman LLP
    350 La Jolla Village Drive
    Suite 370
    San Diego, CA 92122
    858.412.6300
    teodora.purcell@tsmimmigration.com
  • New Lawyer Forum Representative
    Michael R. Finstad
    Finstad Law, PC
    1804 Garnet Ave., Ste. 320
    San Diego, CA 92019-3352
    (619) 836-0931
    Mike.Finstad@FinstadLawPC.co

Section and Committee Leadership

A full list of the SDCBA's Section and Committee Leadership can be found here. For more on the SDCBA's Sections and Committees, visit: https://www.sdcba.org/index.cfm?pg=SectionsCmtesDivisions 

Internal Leadership

The Association is fortunate to have an amazing team of professional experts and program specialists who execute its’ various functions and priorities.  The day-to-day operations of the SDCBA are lead by Execuitve Director and CEO, Ellen Miller-Sharp. Below details the various SDCBA departments and contacts.  You may contact any team member by emailing them directly or by calling 619.231.0781 and entering the extention listed below.  We are currently recruiting a full time Member Technology Officer.  Click here to review the position description.   


Executive Director-CEO and Governance


Educational Programs and Events


Communications and Outreach


Member Services

  • Andrew Cave
    Associate Director, Member Services
    ext. 4108
    acave@sdcba.org
  • Kayla Higgins
    Administrative Assistant
    ext. 4157

Lawyer Referral and Information Service

Call toll-free at 800-464-1529 or Local at 619-231-8585
Hable Gratis al 800-464-1529 o Local 619-231-8585


Fee Arbitration

Fee Arbitration:
619-231-0781 ext. 4153

Fee Arbitration Voicemail:
ext. 4301 or email:

arbitration@sdcba.org


Finance & Operations


Bar Center and Meeting Services