Leadership & Policies

The SDCBA’s Board of Directors is the Association’s governing body, and is responsible for guiding the organization, within the parameters set forth by the SDCBA’s Bylaws and the policies set forth by the SDCBA Policy Manual, and within the provisions of the California Corporations Code and other relevant provisions of the law of the state of California.

2017 Board of Directors

The San Diego County Bar Association is governed by an 18 member Board of Directors. Directors are elected at large by the membership, one director is elected from East County, one from South Bay and one from North County. Director elections are held in November of each year. In addition, the chair of the Forum for Emerging Lawyers serves as a representative to the Board. The Bar's president is elected by the board from the second and third year directors in November. The board meets on the second Tuesday of each month at the Bar Center at 401. For a list of all of the SDCBA's past presidents, click here.


  • President
    Loren G. Freestone
    Higgs Fletcher & Mack LLP
    401 W. A St., Ste. 2600
    San Diego, CA 92101-7913
    (619) 236-1551
    Fax: (619) 696-1410 lfreestone@higgslaw.com
  • President-Elect
    Kristin E. Rizzo
    Rizzo Law, PC
    185 W. F St., Ste. 430
    San Diego, CA 92101-6091
    (619) 333-0949 rizzo@rizzofirm.com

  • Immediate Past President
    Heather S. Riley
    Allen Matkins Leck Gamble Mallory & Natsis LLP
    501 W. Broadway, 15th Fl.
    San Diego, CA 92101-3541
    (619) 233-1155 hriley@allenmatkins.com
  • Vice President
    Jodi L. Cleesattle
    Office of the Attorney General
    110 W. A St., Ste. 1100
    San Diego, CA 92101-3702
    (619) 645-3150 jodi.cleesattle@doj.ca.gov
  • Vice President
    Roger C. Haerr
    Law Office of Roger C. Haerr
    600 W Broadway, Ste. 700
    San Diego, CA 92101-3370
    (619) 500-1797
    Fax: (619) 900-7718
    roger@haerrlaw.com

  • Vice President
    Richard H. Layon
    Law Offices of Richard H. Layon
    950 Vista Village Dr.
    Vista, CA 92084-6064
    (760) 631-5151
    Fax: (760) 631-5155
    rhl@layon.net
  • Vice President
    Lilys D. McCoy
    Thomas Jefferson School of Law
    1155 Island Ave.
    San Diego, CA 92101-7230
    (619) 961-4353
    Fax: (619) 961-1353
    lilysmccoy@icloud.com
  • Vice President
    Dino J. Paraskevopoulos
    District Attorney's Office
    330 W. Broadway
    San Diego, CA 92101-3825
    (619) 531-4261
    Fax: (619) 515-8825
    dino.paraskevopoulos@sdcda.org
  • Treasurer
    Johanna S. Schiavoni
    Law Office of
    Johanna S. Schiavoni
    3170 Fourth Ave., Suite 250
    San Diego, CA 92103
    (619) 269-4046
     johanna@schiavoni-law.com
  • Secretary
    Srinivas Hanumadass
    Casey Gerry Schenk
    Francavilla Blatt & Penfield, LLP
    110 Laurel St.
    San Diego, CA 92101-1419
    (619) 238-1811
    Fax: (619) 544-9232
    Vas@cglaw.com

  • Director
    Frank J. Barone
    Office of the Public Defender
    5530 Overland Ave., Ste. 110 San Diego, CA 92123-1261
    (858) 974-5803
    Fax: (858) 974-5858
    frank.barone@sdcounty.ca.gov

  • Director
    Stephanie H. Chow
    Office of the Attorney General
    110 W. A St., Ste. 1100
    San Diego, CA 92101-3702
    (619) 645-2077
    Fax: (619) 645-2012
    stephanie.chow@doj.ca.gov

  • Director
    Renée N. Galente
    Galente Law, APC
    110 W. C St., Ste. 712
    San Diego, CA 92101-3906
    (760) 224-5226
    Fax: (800) 851-3256
    renee@galentelaw.com
  • Director
    Patricia P. Hollenbeck
    Duane Morris LLP
    750 B St., Ste. 2900
    San Diego, CA 92101-8127
    (619) 744-2250
    Fax: (619) 744-2201
    phollenbeck@duanemorris.com
  • Director
    Garrison Klueck
    Law & Mediation Firm of Klueck & Hoppes, APC
    7777 Alvarado Rd., Ste. 413
    La Mesa, CA 91942-8248
    (619) 448-6500
    Fax: (619) 589-5448
    garrison@familylawsandiego.com

  • Director
    Christopher M. Lawson
    District Attorney's Office
    330 W. Broadway
    San Diego, CA 92101-3825
    (619) 531-1192
    christopher.lawson@sdcda.org
  • Director
    Jan K. Maiden
    Law Office of Jan Maiden
    858 3rd Ave., Ste. 140
    Chula Vista, CA 91911-1305
    (619) 253-7867
    Fax: (619) 216-6954
    jkmaiden@yahoo.com

  • Director
    Anna M. Romanskaya
    Stark & D'Ambrosio, LLP
    501 W. Broadway, Ste. 960
    San Diego, CA 92101-8594
    (619) 338-9500
    Fax: 619.338.9595
    aromanskaya@starkllp.com

  • Forum for Emerging Lawyers Representative
    Ashley M. Peterson
    Office of Ashley M. Peterson
    3667 Voltaire St.
    San Diego, CA 92106-1253
    (619) 222-7300
    Fax: (619) 222-3667
    amp@ashleypetersonlaw.com

Section and Committee Leadership

A full list of the SDCBA's Section and Committee Leadership can be found here. For more on the SDCBA's Sections and Committees, visit: www.sdcba.org/communities.


Internal Leadership

The Association is fortunate to have a solid team of professional experts and program specialists who execute its’ various functions and priorities.  The day-to-day operations of the SDCBA are lead by Execuitve Director and CEO, Ellen Miller-Sharp. Below details the various SDCBA departments and contacts.  You may contact any team member by emailing them directly or by calling 619.231.0781 and entering the extention listed below.


Executive Director-CEO and Governance


Educational Programs and Events


Communications and Outreach


Member Services

mbr@sdcba.org or cle@sdcba.org

Andrew Cave
Member Services Specialist
ext. 4108


Lawyer Referral and Information Service

Call toll-free at 800-464-1529 or Local at 619-231-8585
Hable Gratis al 800-464-1529 o Local 619-231-8585


Fee Arbitration

Fee Arbitration:
619-231-0781 ext. 4153

Fee Arbitration Voicemail:
ext. 4301 or email:

arbitration@sdcba.org


Finance & Operations


Bar Center and Meeting Services