Cassandra E. Mougin

Office of the San Diego City Attorney

Years admitted to practice in California: 17
Years practicing in San Diego: 17
Years as a member of the SDCBA: 9
Areas of practice: municipal law, tort litigation

SDCBA Sections or Committees

Carmel Valley Section

Co-Chair (2008-2014)

Ethnic Relations and Diversity Committee

Member At Large (2015 – present)
Diversity Fellowship Program, Volunteer Application Reviewer and Interviewer (2015)

Other SDCBA projects

Disability Interest Group  Vice-Chair (2016 – present)

Leadership positions at the SDCBA

Carmel Valley Section co-chair (2008 -2014)
Ethnic Relations and Diversity Committee, Member-at-Large (2015- present)
Disability Interest Group, Vice-Chair (2016-present)

Leadership roles in other bar associations or other non-legal associations

MANA de San Diego

Director (2016- present)
Scholarship Committee
Co- Chair (2015 – present)
Member (2014- present)

Casa Cornelia, Volunteer Attorney

Human Trafficking case (2015-2016)
DACA renewals  (2015)

California Minority Counsel Program

Annual Conference Committee/ Moderator  (2011)
E-Newsletter Committee Chair (2014- Present)
Member (2007- Present)

Hispanic National Bar Association
Member (2010- Present)

Awards and honors

California Western School of Law, Cum Laude, 2000
California Western Law Review, Notes & Comments Editor, 1998-2000
American Jurisprudence Award, Civil Procedure I, Civil Procedure II, 1997-1998
Wiley W. Manuel Award for Pro Bono Service, 2016
Best of the Bar, San Diego Business Journal, 2015

Description of what inspires you

I am inspired by the women I have met as a volunteer for MANA de San Diego, a non-profit whose mission is to empower Latinas through education, leadership, community service and advocacy.  The young Latinas benefitting from MANA’s programs are inspiring to me because of the significant sacrifices they make to pursue their education.  Most are the first in their families to attend high school.  They work hard at school, often care for other family members, and may spend hours on public transit commuting to high school and work.  Their grit and fortitude is remarkable and inspiring. 

Description of what you would bring to the SDCBA Board

Through my work as a Deputy City Attorney, I will be a bridge between the SDCBA, the public sector, and the greater San Diego community. With over 150 attorneys, the San Diego City Attorney’s Office is the second largest law firm in the county, and an important voice in our legal community. All of our attorneys are members of the SDCBA.  I would like to work with the SDCBA to create and enhance opportunities to partner on projects of mutual interest. This may include valuable training opportunities, the creation of a community conflict resolution program, and working with local firms to obtain restraining orders for victims of domestic violence.  We also partner with all three local law schools to provide students with internships and volunteer opportunities to better prepare emerging lawyers, an effort that we could improve with the support of the SDCBA. I will emphasize continuing the SDCBA’s history of preserving civility, inclusiveness, and diversity in its membership. I am committed to supporting the SDCBA committees, members and diverse bar organizations.  As a Vice-Chair of the SDCBA Disability Interest Group, I would like to bring a greater awareness to our membership of the challenges faced by disabled attorneys. 

Other information you would like to share with the SDCBA membership

Our profession is demanding and we are often working on behalf of others, and not spending enough time caring for ourselves.  The ABA has stated that well-being is an indispensable part of a lawyer’s duty of competence.  If elected, I would like to explore programs or partnerships to address stress and burn-out in our profession, and de-stigmatize asking for help. I also believe that we are fortunate and should share that good fortune through community service.  As a wife and mother, I hope to instill an enthusiasm for community service in my young son.  In an increasingly polarized political and social climate, I believe that our members are in a position to champion and model civility, level-headedness and dispute resolution to the larger community.  With the financial constraints on our court system, dispute resolution will likely play an increasing role in our profession and our communities.

Endorsements by individuals or groups

Mara Elliott, San Diego City Attorney
George Schaefer, Assistant City Attorney
Karen Li, Chief Deputy City Attorney
Catherine Richardson, Chief Deputy City Attorney
Catherine Blakespear, Mayor of Encinitas
Jerrilyn Malana, Past-President SDCBA
Valerie Garcia Hong, Past-President Filipino-American Lawyers of San Diego
Ariel Javier, Past- President Filipino-American Lawyers of San Diego
Peter Lynch, founder of the Disability Interest Group of the San Diego County Bar Association 
Melissa Deleon, Past-President Filipino-American Lawyers of San Diego
Rafael Hurtado
Cristina Gabrielidis
Susan Bartlestone Gilmor
Neil Gilmor
Arie Spangler
Robert Ortiz, Senior Deputy County Counsel
Rebecca Lillig
Bradley Muldrow
Ryan Nell
Todd Atkins
Kristina Pfeifer
Cameron Flynn
Amy Bianchini
Eric Ransavage
Andrew Kohn
Doug Pettit
Tom Ingrassia
Jennifer Lutz
Damian Dolin
Christina Bernstein
Jeffrey Miyamoto
Jenna Leyton Jones
Derek Wilson
Lauren Bates
Ryan Bates
Andrea Kaplan Russell, Former Chair of SDCBA Civil Litigation Section

Tom Homann LGBT Law Association
San Diego La Raza Lawyers
San Diego Native American Law Association