/docDownload/711255

Leadership & Policies

The SDCBA’s Board of Directors is the Association’s governing body, and is responsible for guiding the organization, within the parameters set forth by the SDCBA’s Bylaws and the policies set forth by the SDCBA Policy Manual, and within the provisions of the California Corporations Code and other relevant provisions of the law of the state of California.

Interested in running for the Board of Directors?  For more information on the role of a Board Member, criteria to run and information from our June 29th session on how to run for the board, click here.  

2016 Board of Directors

The San Diego County Bar Association is governed by an 18 member Board of Directors. Directors are elected at large by the membership, one director is elected from East County, one from South Bay and one from North County. Director elections are held in November of each year. In addition, the chair of the Forum for Emerging Lawyers serves as a representative to the Board. The Bar's president is elected by the board from the second and third year directors in November. The board meets on the second Tuesday of each month at the Bar Center at 401. For a list of all of the SDCBA's past presidents, click here.


  • President
    Heather S. Riley
    Allen Matkins Leck Gamble Mallory & Natsis LLP
    501 W. Broadway, 15th Fl.
    San Diego, CA 92101-3541
    (619) 233-1155 hriley@allenmatkins.com
  • President-Elect
    Loren G. Freestone
    Higgs Fletcher & Mack LLP
    401 W. A St., Ste. 2600
    San Diego, CA 92101-7913
    (619) 236-1551
    Fax: (619) 696-1410 lfreestone@higgslaw.com

  • Immediate Past President
    Richard A. Huver
    The Huver Law Firm
    655 W. Broadway, Ste. 1400
    San Diego, CA 92101-8491
    (619) 961-4883
    Fax (619) 961-4886 rhuver@huverlaw.com
  • Vice President
    Dan Bacal
    Law Offices of Dan Bacal
    275 E. Douglas Ave., Ste. 114
    El Cajon, CA 92020-4548
    (619) 588-2064
    Fax: (619) 839.3133 dan@bacallaw.com
  • Vice President
    Lizzette Herrera Castellanos University of San Diego
    School of Law
    5998 Alcala Park
    San Diego, CA 92110-2429
    (619) 260-2342
    Fax: (619) 260-6828 lizzette.herrera@sandiego.edu

  • Vice President
    Andy Cook
    Law Offices of Andy Cook
    1901 1st Ave., 2nd Fl.
    San Diego, CA 92101-2382
    (619) 515-9900
    Fax: (619) 515-9898 acookjd@earthlink.net
  • Vice President
    Kristin E. Rizzo
    The Rizzo Law Firm
    185 W. F St., Ste. 430
    San Diego, CA 92101-6091
    (619) 333-0949 rizzo@rizzofirm.com
  • Treasurer
    Dino J. Paraskevopoulos
    District Attorney's Office
    330 W. Broadway
    San Diego, CA 92101-3825
    (619) 531-4261
    Fax: (619) 515-8825
    dino.paraskevopoulos@sdcda.org
  • Secretary
    Lilys D. McCoy
    Thomas Jefferson School of Law
    1155 Island Ave.
    San Diego, CA 92101-7230
    (619) 961-4353
    Fax: (619) 961-1353
    lilysmccoy@icloud.com

  • Director
    Stephanie H. Chow
    Office of the Attorney General
    110 W. A St., Ste. 1100
    San Diego, CA 92101-3702
    (619) 645-2077
    Fax: (619) 645-2012
    stephanie.chow@doj.ca.gov

  • Director
    Jodi L. Cleesattle
    Office of the Attorney General
    110 W. A St., Ste. 1100
    San Diego, CA 92101-3702
    (619) 645-3150 jodi.cleesattle@doj.ca.gov

  • Director
    Roger C. Haerr
    Law Office of Roger C. Haerr
    600 W Broadway, Ste. 700
    San Diego, CA 92101-3370
    (619) 500-1797
    Fax: (619) 900-7718
    roger@haerrlaw.com
  • Director
    Srinivas Hanumadass
    Casey Gerry Schenk
    Francavilla Blatt & Penfield, LLP
    110 Laurel St.
    San Diego, CA 92101-1419
    (619) 238-1811
    Fax: (619) 544-9232
    Vas@cglaw.com
  • Director
    Richard H. Layon
    Law Offices of Richard H. Layon
    950 Vista Village Dr.
    Vista, CA 92084-6064
    (760) 631-5151
    Fax: (760) 631-5155
    rhl@layon.net

  • Director
    Jan K. Maiden
    Law Office of Jan Maiden
    858 3rd Ave., Ste. 140
    Chula Vista, CA 91911-1305
    (619) 253-7867
    Fax: (619) 216-6954
    jkmaiden@yahoo.com
  • Director
    Anna M. Romanskaya
    Stark & D'Ambrosio, LLP
    501 W. Broadway, Ste. 960
    San Diego, CA 92101-8594
    (619) 338-9500
    Fax: 619.338.9595
    aromanskaya@starkllp.com

  • Director
    Johanna S. Schiavoni
    Law Office of
    Johanna S. Schiavoni
    3170 Fourth Ave., Suite 250
    San Diego, CA 92103
    (619) 269-4046
     johanna@schiavoni-law.com

  • Director
    Jason C. Evans
    Casey Gerry Schenk
    Francavilla Blatt & Penfield, LLP
    110 Laurel St.
    San Diego, CA 92101-1419
    (619) 238-1811
    Fax: (619) 544-9232
     jevans@cglaw.com

Section and Committee Leadership

A full list of the SDCBA's Section and Committee Leadership can be found here. For more on the SDCBA's Sections and Committees, visit: www.sdcba.org/communities.


Internal Leadership 

The Association is fortunate to have a solid team of professional experts and program specialists who execute its’ various functions and priorities.  The day-to-day operations of the SDCBA are lead by Execuitve Director and CEO, Ellen Miller-Sharp. Below details the various SDCBA departments and contacts.  You may contact any team member by emailing them directly or by calling 619.231.0781 and entering the extention listed below.  


Executive Director-CEO, Governance and Special Projects Team


Communications and Outreach


Member Services

mbr@sdcba.org or cle@sdcba.org


Lawyer Referral and Information Service

Call toll-free at 800-464-1529 or Local at 619-231-8585
Hable Gratis al 800-464-1529 o Local 619-231-8585


Fee Arbitration

  • Fee Arbitration:
    619-231-0781 ext. 4153

    Fee Arbitration Voicemail:
    ext. 4301 or email:

    arbitration@sdcba.org


Finance & Operations


Bar Center and Meeting Services