Disclaimer Copyright Privacy Statement
San Diego County Bar Association

Diversity Initiatives

Embracing Diversity & Closing the Gap in the Legal Profession

The San Diego County Bar Association's Diversity Initiatives include a Diversity Fellowship Program and the Diversity Pledge as well as an annual Dialogue on Diversity CLE program as well as networking and educational events with members of the SDCBA's Ethnic Relations and Diversity Committee. The goal of these various initiatives and programs is to foster a greater commitment to diversity within San Diego's legal community.

The San Diego County Bar Association and the Association of Corporate Counsel created the San Diego Diversity Fellowship Program in response to the low number of diverse attorneys practicing law in San Diego County law firms and corporate legal departments. The Program provides an opportunity for diverse, first year law students to learn and develop skills necessary to be successful in law firm and corporate legal department environments and exposes law firms and corporate legal departments to qualified individuals who might not otherwise be considered. For more information on the Diversity Fellowship Program, click here.
Thank you to our 2015 Diversity Fellowship Program Employers:
  • Andrews Lagasse Branch & Bell LLP
  • Carothers DiSante & Freudenberger LLP
  • Cozen O'Connor
  • Ferris & Britton, APC
  • Higgs Fletcher & Mack, LLP
  • Klinedinst PC
  • Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Pepeo P.C.
  • Paul, Plevin, Sullivan & Connaughton LLP
  • Perez Wilson Vaughn and Feasby, Inc. 
  • Procopio, Cory, Hargreaves & Savitch LLP
  • San Diego County, Office of County Counsel
  • San Diego County, District Attorney's Office
  • Sempra Engergy
  • Sony Electronics, Inc.
  • Wilson Turner Kosmo LLP

Diversity Pledge

The SDCBA created a Diversity Pledge in 2007, to serve as a guideline for fostering diversity within the legal profession in San Diego. The Diversity Pledge was created to re-focus efforts within the legal profession on promoting diversity in the hiring, retention and advancement of attorneys within law firms and corporate legal departments and emphasizing diversity in leadership positions. Although the Diversity Pledge includes a detailed list of diversity goals and practices for organizations to consider, it is meant to serve as a guideline and is completely voluntary. For a list of those who have signed the Diversity Pledge Signatories please see the column on the right.
To read the SDCBA Diversity Pledge in its entirety, click here. To become a Diversity Pledge Signatory, sign and return this form.


Dialogue on Diversity
The SDCBA's Dialogue on Diversity program offers attendees the chance to hear from some of the industry's leaders while earning CLE credit and networking. Dialogue on Diversity 2014 covered current trends in diversity and inclusion and featured Sandra Yamate, Chief Executive Officer of the Institute for Inclusion in the Legal Profession.

From left to right: Hon. David Danielsen, Sandra Yamate, Jerrilyn Malana.


2014 ERDC Holidays Around the World Mixer

The SDCBA’s Ethnic Relations & Diversity Committee (ERDC) joined together to socialize and network at the ERDC’s annual Holidays Around the World Mixer on November 6, 2014 at the SDCBA Conference Center.



 SDCBA Diversity Pledge Signatories

The SDCBA Diversity Pledge serves as a guideline for fostering diversity within the legal profession in San Diego.  To become a Diversity Pledge Signatory, please sign and return this form.

AlbertDhand LLP

Allen Matkins Leck Gamble Mallory & Natsis LLP

American Arbitration Association

Best Best & Krieger

Butz Dunn & DeSantis

Casey Gerry Schenk Francavilla Blatt & Penfield, LLP

Cooley LLP

Cozen O'Connor

DLA Piper

Fagen Friedman & Fulfrost

Fish & Richardson P.C.

Foley & Lardner

Fonss & Estigarribia, Attorneys at Law

Gaston and Gaston

Higgs Fletcher & Mack

Huston | McCaffrey, LLP

Jones Day

Kirby Noonan Lance & Hoge LLP

Klinedinst PC

Latham & Watkins LLP

Law Offices of Lori R. Mendez, P.L.C.

Littler Mendelson

Lozano Smith

Maldonado & Markham, LLP

Manning & Kass, Ellrod, Ramirez,
Trester LLP

McKenna, Long and Aldridge

Morrison Foerster

Paul Hastings LLP

Pettit Kohn Ingrassia & Lutz

Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP

Procopio, Cory, Hargreaves & Savitch LLP


Sandler, Lasry, Laube, Byer & Valdez LLP

Sempra Energy

Seltzer Caplan McMahon Vitek

Sheppard Mullin Richter & Hampton LLP

Solomon Ward Seidenwurm & Smith, LLP

Sony Electronics, Inc.

Stutz, Artiano, Shinoff & Holtz

Thomas Jefferson School of Law

Troutman Sanders LLP

Tyson & Mendes LLP

Wilson Turner Kosmo LLP


Ethnic Relations and Diversity Committee Chair:

Stephanie Chow, Chair
Office of the Attorney General
110 W. A St., Ste. 1100
San Diego, CA 92101-3702
Phone: (619) 645-2077
Fax: (619) 645-2012
Email: stephanie.chow@doj.ca.gov