Leadership & Policies

The SDCBA’s Board of Directors is the Association’s governing body, and is responsible for guiding the organization, within the parameters set forth by the SDCBA’s Bylaws, the SDCBA Policy Manual, the California Corporations Code, and other relevant provisions of the law of the state of California.

2020 Board of Directors

The San Diego County Bar Association is governed by 18 elected Board of Directors, including one director from North County, East County, and South Bay who act as a regional representative. In addition, the chair of the New Lawyer Division serves a one year term on the Board as the new lawyer representative. Director elections are held in November of each year and the Bar's president is elected by the board from the second and third year directors. The board meets on the second Tuesday of each month at the Bar Center at 401. For a list of all of the SDCBA's past presidents, click here.

If you are interested in joining the SDCBA board of Directors click here.
  • President
    Johanna Schiavoni
    California Appellate Law Group LLP
    johanna [at] schiavoni-law.com
  • President-Elect
    Renée N.G. Stackhouse
    Stackhouse, APC
    renee [at] stackhouseAPC.com
  • Immediate Past President
    Lilys D. McCoy
    Thomas Jefferson School of Law
    lilysmccoy [at] icloud.com
  • Secretary
    A. Melissa Johnson
    Spencer Johnson McCammon LLP
    mjohnson [at] thespencerlawfirm.com
  • Treasurer
    David M. Majchrzak
    Klinedinst PC
    dmajchrzak [at] klinedinstlaw.com
  • Vice President
    Gary S.Barthel
    Military Law Center, Inc.
    gbarthel [at] militarylawcenter.com
  • Vice President
    Linh Lam
    District Attorney's Office
    linh.sdcba [at] gmail.com
  • Vice President
    Teodora D. Purcell
    Duane Morris, LLP
    Tpurcell [at] duanemorris.com
  • Director
    Marissa A. Bejarano
    District Attorney's Office
    marissa.bejarano [at] sdcda.org
  • Director
    Hon. Victor E. Bianchini, Ret.
    Judicate West
    judgebianchini [at] att.net
  • Director
    Roxy Carter
    Attorney at Law
    RoxySDCBA [at] gmail.com 
  • Director
    Warren Den
    Office of the Public Defender
    warrenden [at] gmail.com
  • Director
    Nicholas J. Fox
    Foley & Lardner LLP
    nicholas.john.fox [at] gmail.com
  • Director
    Brenda Lopez
    Law Offices of Brenda Lopez
    brendalopez_esq [at] outlook.com
  • Director
    Wilson Schooley
    Schooley Law Firm
    waslawprose [at] cox.net
  • Director
    Khodadad Darius Sharif
    Sharif Faust Lawyers, Ltd.
    sharif [at] shariffaust.com
    Kimberly Swierenga
    Swierenga Law & Mediation
    Kimberly [at] ElderFraudFighter.com
  • New Lawyer Division Representative
    Stephanie Sandler
    Sandler Law
    ssandler [at] thesandlerfirm.com

Section and Committee Leadership

A full list of the SDCBA's Section Leadership can be found here. For more information about SDCBA Sections, click here. 
For more information about SDCBA's Committees and Committee leadership, click here.

Internal Leadership

The Association is fortunate to have an amazing team of professional experts and program specialists who execute its’ various functions and priorities. You may contact any team member by emailing them directly or by calling 619.231.0781 and entering the extension listed below.   

Executive Leadership

  • Jill Epstein, JD
    Executive Director

    ext. 4111

  • Keith Fisher
    Deputy Executive Director

    ext. 4107


  • Olga Blankson
    Executive Assistant/
    Leadership Coordinator

    ext. 4113

Programs and Events

  • Sarah Harris
    Director of Programs & Events
    ext. 4112
  • Maribel Sanchez
    Program Specialist
    ext. 4118
  • Nic Hagan
    Conference Center & Events Manager
    ext. 4135

Marketing and Outreach

  • Ron Marcus
    Director of Marketing & Outreach
    ext. 4116

  • Attiba Royster
    Graphic Designer/ Webmaster
    ext. 4115

  • Sasha Feredoni
    Marketing Manager
    ext. 4110

  • Hailey Johnson
    Publications and Content Coordinator
    ext. 4119

Member Services

  • Andrew Cave
    Director of  Member Services
    ext. 4108
  • Kayla Higgins
    Administrative Assistant
    ext. 4157
  •    Adriana Linares
    Technology and Practice Management Advisor

Lawyer Referral and Information Service

Call toll-free at 800-464-1529 or Local at 619-231-8585
Hable Gratis al 800-464-1529 o Local 619-231-8585

  • Michelle Chavez 
    Director of Public Service Programs

    ext. 4150

  • Elizabeth Sorensen 
    Attorney and Community Outreach Specialist

    ext. 4153

  • Holly Thomas 
    Senior LRIS & SCRA Specialist

    ext. 4130

  • Dawn Young 
    LRIS Specialist

    ext. 4127

Fee Arbitration

  • Gloria Varela 
    Fee Dispute Specialist

    ext. 4154


Finance & Operations

  • Philip Schneider, MBA 
    Director of Finance & CFO
    ext. 4124

  • Cynthia Davis 
    Accounting Coordinator
    ext. 4131

Bar Center and Meeting Services

  • Julie Marquardt
    Member Services Concierge
    ext. 4100
  • Aldrin Ring
    Building Operations Coordinator
    ext. 4106